• Reporting Corruption: 0791333222

The energy sector in Kenya is managed by the Ministry of Energy and Petroleum (MoEP) which generates policies that are designed to create an enabling environment for efficient operation and growth of the sector. It sets the strategic direction for the growth of the sector and provides a long term vision for all sector players. READ MORE…

Kenya Vision 2030 and the Second Medium Plan 2013-2017 identify energy as one of the infrastructure enablers for transformation into “a newly-industrialising, middle-income country providing a high quality of life to all its citizens in a clean and secure environment”. Access to competitively-priced, reliable, quality, safe and sustainable energy is essential for achievement of the Vision. The Ministry of Energy and Petroleum’s functions as detailed in the Executive Order No. 2/2013 of May 2013 on the Organisation of the Government of the Republic of Kenya are:-

  1. Energy Policy and Development.
  2. Hydropower Development.
  3. Geothermal Exploration and Development.
  4. Thermal Power Development.
  5. Oil and Gas Exploration.
  6. Oil/Gas and Minerals Sector Capacity Development.
  7. Rural Electrification Programme.
  8. Petroleum Products, Import/Export/Marketing Policy Management.
  9. Renewable Energy Promotion and Development
  10. Energy Regulation, Security and Conservation.
  11. Fossil Fuels Exploration and Development.

The institutional structure of the energy sector in Kenya comprises the Ministry of Energy and Petroleum (MoEP), Energy and Petroleum Regulatory Authority (EPRA), Kenya Pipeline Company (KPC), Kenya Electricity Generating Company (KenGen), Kenya Power and Lighting Company, the Rural Electrification Authority (REA), Kenya Electricity Transmission Company (KETRACO), Geothermal Development Company (GDC), Kenya Nuclear Electricity Board (KNEB), National Oil Corporation of Kenya (NOCK), Kenya Petroleum Refineries Limited, private sector actors and energy service users/customers.

The Ministry has five Directorates namely, Petroleum Energy, Geo-Exploration, Renewable Energy, Electrical Power, General Administration and Support Services to facilitate delivery of its mandate.

Source: Ministry of Energy and Petroleum